Skip to main content

Williamsport High Hosting 24th Annual Academic Team Championship on March 7

Posted March 4, 2020

HAGERSTOWN, MD (March 4, 2020) – The 24th Annual Washington County Public Schools (WCPS) High School Academic Team Competition will be held Saturday, March 7, 2020 at 9 a.m. at Williamsport High School. Teams of students from each high school: Barbara Ingram School for the Arts, Boonsboro, Clear Spring, Hancock, North Hagerstown, Smithsburg, South Hagerstown, Washington County Technical and Williamsport high schools begin the event with an uncontested round of questions for each team, followed by round-robin, head-to-head competition in which each team faces every other team. The event ends with a championship round comprised of the four teams that earned the highest cumulative scores from the first two rounds. Each of the teams in the finals earns scholarship money and the winning team receives a $1,000 scholarship for its school. The highest-scoring team that does not reach the championship round earns scholarship money from Hagerstown Community College. Scholarship sponsors include the Hagerstown Community College Foundation, Nora Roberts Foundation, WCPS Education Foundation, Washington County Teachers Association and Washington County Teachers Federal Credit Union. The competition is free and open to the public.