Skip to main content

Elizabeth McDonald Named 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year

Posted April 20, 2022

Photo of Elizabeth McDonaldElizabeth McDonald, a biomedical science teacher at Washington County Technical High School, is the 2022-2023 Washington County Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made Wednesday evening, April 20, at the annual Teacher of the Year awards ceremony, hosted by the Washington County Chamber of Commerce at Fountain Head Country Club. Wednesday’s event marked the return to the in-person celebration, which was previously held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

As the winner, McDonald receives $6,000 to support her classroom from WCPS. Representatives from Hagerstown Honda also provided her with the keys to a 2021 Honda Passport Elite, which she will have to drive during her term as Teacher of the Year. In addition, McDonald receives a prize package that includes free Chick-fil-A for a year from Chick-fil-A of Hagerstown. 

I assume this role as Washington County Teacher of the Year as a joyful challenge to continue to grow and develop as an educator and as a sincere mission to celebrate and amplify the incredible work being done every day by the students and staff of Washington County Public Schools,” McDonald says. “There is no greater inspiration to me than the students I have the opportunity and honor of working with each day. What unites us is a curiosity and passion for science and its potential for solving some of the most challenging problems we face in today’s world.”

McDonald has been a teacher for over 20 years, and she has worked at WCPS for 11 years. She has been a previous Teacher of the Year finalist in 2016 and 2020. She facilitates hands-on, interactive learning experiences in her classroom, and she pursues real-world medical scenarios that allow her students to observe and question. 

The four other finalists for Washington County Teacher of the Year were also presented with a check for $1,000 to support their classrooms and a gift basket from Chick-fil-A. The finalists include:

  • Libby Baumgardner, Eastern Elementary School

  • Caitlin Keller, Boonsboro Middle School

  • Erica Kozlowski, Fountaindale Elementary School

  • Ann Palmer, Jonathan Hager Elementary School

McDonald will now join a cohort of teachers of the year from 23 other school districts in the state who participate in professional learning experiences. They will all be considered for the title of Maryland Teacher of the Year, which is anticipated to be announced in the fall