Skip to main content

Ad Hoc Committee on Diversity Members Announced; First Meeting Scheduled

Posted January 5, 2017

Hagerstown, MD (January 5, 2016) - Membership of the Washington County Board of Education's (BOE) Ad Hoc Committee on Diversity has been finalized and the first meeting is scheduled on Tuesday, January 31, 2017 at 5 p.m. in the auditorium of the Center for Education Services, 10435 Downsville Pike, Hagerstown. Members of the committee are as follows:

  1. Tom Alexander, Ph.D.
    Lieutenant, Hagerstown Police Department
    Adjunct Faculty Member – University of MD, Shippensburg University and University of MD University College
    Diversity Task Force Member
  2. Bruce Brooks
    Staff Nurse, Community Free Clinic
    New Light Metropolitan Community Church Board of Directors
    Food and Friends Program
  3. Angela Clifford
    Mental Health Professional, Licensed Therapist LGSW, Frederick County Adult Detention Center
    Project Transition of Washington County
  4. Naki Frierson
    Legislative Aide/Constituent Services Manager – State Senator Ulysses Currie
    Parent and volunteer at Fountaindale Elementary School
  5. Diana Fulchiron
    Director of Grants Management, Washington County Community Action Council, Inc.
    Girls on the Run of Washington County
    Bester Community of Hope Sustainability Committee
  6. Shannon Gaines
    Recruitment Coordinator, Western MD Hospital Center
    Diversity Task Force Member
    Doleman Museum volunteer
    Active PTA officer/member
    North Hagerstown High School Orchestra Booster
  7. Joseph Jefferson
    Director of Cooperative Education, Shepherd University
    Diversity Task Force Member
    Co-Facilitator of Diversity Workshops 
  8. James Jenkins
    Manager of Public Relations and Community Affairs, Washington County Government
    Barbara Ingram School for the Arts Board of Directors
    Washington County Museum of Fine Arts Marketing Committee
  9. Patricia Mims
    Workforce Specialist, MD State Government
    Welfare to Work Program
    Zion Baptist Church Officer
  10. Paula Moore
    Supervisor of ESOL and World Languages, Washington County Public Schools (WCPS)
    Diversity Task Force Member
    MSDE Seal of Biliteracy Task Force
    Diversity Center Board of Directors
  11. Terri Moore
    English Teacher, Washington County Technical High School
    Diversity Task Force Member
    Doctoral program with focus on Diversity in Literature
  12. Dana Pentoney
    Homeless Education Coordinator, Washington County Public Schools
    Children in Need Board Member
    Early Childhood Advisory Committee
  13. Ari Plost
    Rabbi, Congregation B’nai Abraham
    President Elect, Hagerstown Area Religious Council
    Pastoral Board, Meritus
  14. Shana Ruff
    Director of Development, Girls, Inc.
    Sunrise Rotary Hagerstown
  15. Don Stevenson
    Adjunct Professor – Philosophy, Ethics, World Religion, Harford Community College
    Retired clergy
    Interfaith Coalition of Washington County
    Hagerstown Rotary Club

Laura Francisco, executive director of human resources for Washington County Public Schools, and Dr. Peggy Pugh, associate superintendent for curriculum and instruction, will serve as ex officio members. The committee was established by action of the BOE at its October 18, 2016 business meeting. A group of WCPS staff members narrowed a list of applicants to the final membership.