Skip to main content

Teacher of the Year

The Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce Foundation, Inc., in cooperation with Washington County Public Schools, is proud to recognize men and women who serve in a teaching capacity and who help ensure education excellence in Washington County. Anyone who has observed or benefited from an educator's skill and excellence is encouraged to nominate that individual. Students, parents, community organizations, businesses, colleagues and administrators should submit nominations.

The Nomination Form can be submitted online or by completing the requested information and sending to Donna Long, Chamber of Commerce Foundation, Inc., 28 W. Washington Street, Suite 200, Hagerstown, MD 21740. Nominations are typically open from late fall/early winter until just after the first of the year.

The annual dinner and recognition was held on April 26, 2017 and is sponsored by the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce Foundation at Fountain Head Country Club, Hagerstown.


carolyn holcomb
merit science TEACHER
western heights middle SCHOOL

As part of her prize package, Carolyn will enjoy the use of a car for one year courtesy of Hagerstown Ford and Hagerstown Honda/Hagerstown Kia, free food for a year at Chick-Fil-A, and represent the county in the State of Maryland's Teacher of the Year program. The Teacher of the Year Awards Banquet was held at Fountain Head Country Club in Hagerstown, MD.



The Teacher of the Year awards program is a partnership between the Washington County Public Schools and the Hagerstown/Washington County Chamber of Commerce Foundation. Questions concerning the program and nomination process should be directed to Donna Long.