Skip to main content

Public Hearing on Proposed Attendance Zone Realignment for New Sharpsburg Elementary on April 16 at Boonsboro Middle

Posted March 28, 2019

HAGERSTOWN, MD (March 28, 2019) – A public hearing for discussion of proposed changes to the attendance zone for the new Sharpsburg Elementary School under construction will be held on Tuesday, April 16, 2019 at 6 p.m. at Boonsboro Middle School. The proposed realignment was created during months of consideration and analysis by the Facilities and Enrollment Advisory Committee (FEAC) and presented by superintendent of schools, Dr. Boyd Michael, to the Washington County Board of Education (BOE) on March 19, 2019.

The recommendations are posted on the WCPS website at and can be accessed at each school referenced in the recommendations: Sharpsburg, Boonsboro and Pleasant Valley elementary schools and the Center for Education Services (CES), 10435 Downsville Pike, Hagerstown. A list of potentially impacted addresses accompanies the report at each school and the CES and is available online.  Information about the recommendations is also available by contacting the Public Information Office at 301.766.2809.

In accordance with Policy KD, the public hearing will last two and a half hours but could end sooner if all speakers are provided with an opportunity to speak. Anyone intending to speak at the public hearing is asked to contact Debbie Cechovic at or by calling 301.766.2971. If possible, speakers are requested to submit nine copies of their remarks at the hearing. Comments can also be submitted by email to

Individuals requiring special accommodations are requested to contact Washington County Public Schools by calling or emailing Ms. Cechovic at least five business days in advance of the hearing.

Following the April 16 public hearing, and assuming the BOE does not schedule additional hearings or forums, a formal vote on the matter is tentatively scheduled at the BOE’s May 7 business meeting. The new Sharpsburg Elementary School is scheduled to open for the 2020-2021 school year.