Skip to main content

New and Returning BOE Members Sworn In

Posted December 1, 2020

Darrell Evans takes the oath of office for the Board of Education


Washington County Public Schools (WCPS) held a ceremony on Tuesday, December 1, 2020 to swear in new and returning members of the Washington County Board of Education (WCBOE). A limited number of WCPS staff, Board members, and their guests attended the socially distanced gathering. 

Among the returning board members are current Board President Melissa Williams, Vice President Stan Stouffer, and Pieter Bickford. The Board will vote on this term’s president and vice president in a future meeting. 

Darrell Evans and Dr. April Zentmeyer are the two newest members of the WCBOE. Mr. Evans was appointed by the Washington County Board of Commissioners to fill a vacant seat on the WCBOE, and Dr. Zentmeyer was elected to the position during the general election. Dr. Zentmeyer was not able to attend the swearing-in ceremony and will take her Oath of Office at a later date. 

The first Regular Business Meeting of the newly-sworn WCBOE will be held on Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. The group will also meet for a public Work Session on the same date at 2:00 p.m. to review and discuss the Superintendent’s Proposed Draft Budget for Fiscal Year 2022. Both meetings will be broadcast on Antietam Cable Channel 99 and streamed to the WCPS Facebook page as well as the WCPS website.