Skip to main content

Elementary Principal's Citizenship Awards on May 19 at North High

Posted May 18, 2016

HAGERSTOWN, MD (May 18, 2016) – The 29th annual Elementary Principal’s Citizenship Award Program will be held Thursday, May 19, 2016 at 7 p.m. at North Hagerstown High School. More than 70 honored students are selected by the principal of each elementary or by a committee appointed by the principal. Each school will have 5th grade students who will be recognized for outstanding citizenship with a certificate and plaque. Donna Brightman, president of the Washington County Board of Education, and Dr. Clayton Wilcox, superintendent of schools, will be featured speakers.

The county code of conduct is divided into six standards.  These standards are based on the Josephson Institute of Ethics Character Counts pillars: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship.  Students are expected to align their behavior with these standards while they are in school or while engaged in school-related activities. 

Selection criteria that each student must demonstrate for the Principal’s Citizenship Award include the following: pride and respect toward students and adults; pride and respect toward the school, its rules and property; participation in class discussions and school activities; maximum effort to do well academically. 

A committee from the Washington County Association of Elementary School Administrators organizes the awards program each year.  This year’s event is sponsored by Hagerstown Honda & Kia with pictures provided by Lifetouch. 

The following students will be recognized:

  • Bester: Caleb Platou, Madison Twigg, Caitlin Yates
  • Boonsboro: Matt Bakka, Bryce Hartle, Emma Hausler, Holden Kline, Ella Murthy
  • Cascade: John Edward Ashbaugh, Lakin Bassler
  • Clear Spring: Coleman Bragunier, Hailey Ernst, Agapi Gladhill
  • Conococheague: Charlie Jean Smith
  • Eastern: Indira Arahna, Morgan Callahan, Ben Gilroy, Lydia McFarland, Leia Patel, Christine Sun, Chenaniah Watkins
  • Emma K. Doub: Briana Cook, Aiden Nelson
  • Fountain Rock: Ava Kline, Annabelle Smith
  • Fountaindale: Makenna Anderson, Brady Gettel, Corrie Kennedy
  • Greenbrier: Evelynn McGivney, Cameron Osmond
  • Hancock: Alexandra Smith, MaShea Sowers
  • Hickory: Nicole Reyes, Elizabeth Pierce
  • Lincolnshire: Chevelle Cruz, Antonio Seegers, Treyvor Trovinger, Hailey Weaver
  • Maugansville: Catherine Enriquez, Lakin Kandrick, Robert Langlotz, Jake Scallion, Jacquelyn Stanton
  • Old Forge: Nicholas Horst, Erika Reiter
  • Pangborn: Lindsey Blumenauer, Nate Cupaiuolo, Demitrius Guest, Rosalee Reynolds, Leah Richards
  • Paramount: Aubrey Chamberlin, Theodore Madison, Garett Mastronardi
  • Pleasant Valley: Michaela Carney, Damien Fravel
  • Potomac Heights: Grayden Scibilia, Anna Smith
  • Rockland Woods: Jenna Bauer, Codey Breeden, Mauricia Jones, Naomi Nance
  • Salem Avenue: Janay Badoe, Aaliyah Creary, Dylan Mitchell, Jasmin Terrelonge, Jasmine Walker-Keegan
  • Sharpsburg: Brianna Barnhart, Andrew Myers
  • Smithsburg: Hannah Kline, Dominic Roncone, Logan Ryan
  • Williamsport: Hayden Muir, Skylar Palmer, Emily Tucker, Brady Wallace
  • Winter Street: Aaliyah Bullard, Timothy Smith